

## **Editorial**

We would like to make readers and authors aware of the following changes to the *Polymer* Editorial Board and Editorial Advisory Board as of 1997.

It is a great pleasure to announce that Professor Y. Imanishi becomes Asian Editor *Polymer*. Professor Imanishi has served as Japanese Associate Editor of the Journal for many years, handling papers from Japan and a growing number of papers from other Asian countries. Professor Imanishi's new position will give due recognition to the importance of his work as Editor of *Polymer* for this part of the world.

We also wish to extend a warm welcome to Professor T. Hashimoto of Kyoto University, who joins the Editorial Board in the capacity of Asian Associate Editor *Polymer Communications*. Professor Hashimoto has been a member of the Editorial Advisory Board for many years and he will bring a wealth of expertise to his new position in which we wish him well. Authors in Asia should now submit their full papers to Professor Imanishi, and short communications should be sent to Professor Hashimoto. The submission addresses can be found in the inside front cover and in the Notes for Authors.

Regular readers and authors will have noticed that since July 1996 Professor B. L. Farmer, of the University of Virginia, has taken over as North American Associate Editor *Polymer Communications*. He is succeeding Professor C.W. Frank, who we would like to thank for

his work as Associate Editor. We are very pleased to have Professor Farmer as part of the North American editorial team in which he will work closely with Professor Ronald Eby. Authors in North America are requested to send their communications to Professor Farmer.

We also welcome the following new Editorial Advisory Board members: Professor R. G. Gilbert of the University of Sydney, Dr M. A. Meador of the NASA Lewis Research Center, Professor E. L. Thomas of MIT, and Professor A. H. Windle of the University of Cambridge.

We would like to take this opportunity to inform readers and authors that as of 1997 *Polymer* will sponsor the John H. Dillon Medal which is awarded annually by the Division of High Polymer Physics of the American Physical Society to a young polymer scientist in recognition of outstanding research accomplishments. The award was established in 1983 and we are delighted that the Journal is sponsoring this prestigious prize and the encouragement it gives to younger polymer scientists.

Last, but not least, we are grateful to all *Polymer* authors, referees and members of the Editorial Advisory Board for their efforts in ensuring that the Journal continues to be one of the leading journals in the field. We would like to wish everyone associated with *Polymer* a very happy New Year.

The Editors